Restoring Sight. Supporting Communities. Changing Lives.


San Antonio Eye Bank

The community-based eye bank was founded in 1965 to meet the growing need for cornea donations to help restore sight to the blind through cornea transplantation. The eye bank has become a pioneer and leader in providing eye banking services and support to families, patients, surgeons, and hospitals in San Antonio and throughout South Texas for more than 50 years. (Pictured left: Jennifer from Kerrville,TX - cornea transplant recipient and daughter)


Everyday Heroes Save Sight

The eye bank reaches out to the community with innovative programs designed to educate and inspire the community about the Gift of Sight, as well as supporting vision related medical advancement and research.

The  non-profit, non-governmental San Antonio Eye Bank is an accredited member of the Eye Bank Association of America and a member of CorneaGen. (Pictured right: Karla, donor mother, Jeremiah, donor hero and Kent, cornea transplant recipient) 

Meet The Staff and The Leadership Team

The San Antonio Eye Bank is staffed with exceptionally experienced and diverse donation professionals, dedicated to being stewards of the Gift of Sight. The leadership team oversees clinical and certified eye bank technicians, hospital partner services coordinators, quality

assurance and administrative personnel. Clinical staff members are credentialed by the Eye Bank Association of America and the American Association of Tissue Banks.

Jim Wagner


Executive Director

Pablo Villarreal


Director of Operations

Simera Nichols

Simera Nichols

 Hospital and Community Relations Manager

Jean Bennett


Donor Program Manager

Everyday Heroes Save Sight

 Everyday we honor the donor heroes throughout our community for donating corneas and celebrate restored vision with cornea transplant recipients. Considering viewing our poignant  50th anniversary commemorative video on the Gift of Sight. 

Board of Directors

The following individuals serve on the Board of Directors,

 providing our organization with the benefit of their

 considerable knowledge and expertise.

  • Kenneth J. Maverick, M.D. (Medical Director)
  • Arlo C. Terry, M.D. (Chairman)
  • Daniel Johnson, M.D.
  • Anthony Johnson, M.D.
  • Calvin Mein, M.D.
  • Charles Reilly, M.D.

  • Matthew Caldwell, M.D.
  • Julie C. Tsai, M.D.
  • Fernando Trujillo, M.D.
  • James Lehmann, M.D.
  • Lisa Marten, M.D.